Ruth’s Conversion Statement

In the book of Ruth, after Naomi, Ruth and Oprah lost their husband’s. Naomi entreated her daughter-in -laws to return to their homes, their families and their gods. Did you notice it? “And your gods”… this is God’s of others. Not the Jewish God who I would rather express as: The Creator of All”.

Quoting from the book of Ruth:

And she said: “Behold, your sister in law has gone back to her people and to her gods; go back after your sister in law.”

And Ruth said: “Entreat me not to leave you, or to return from following after you. Wherever you go, I will go; and where you lodge, I will lodge; your people shall be my people, and your G‑d my G‑d. Where you die, I will die, and there will I be buried; G‑d do so to me, and more also, if aught but death part you and me.”

This is what a convert says! Your God is my God (The Creator of All). Not a God of flesh and bones.

The book of Ruth is read on Shavout. The celebration started today, May 25, 2023 at sunset.

Chag Semeach!

Leave a comment